Resources for an Intriguing Bible Study Topic


Young people are often curious about the book of Revelation, which makes a fascinating subject for Bible study. One aspect of this last book of the Bible worth exploring is the 7 spirits of God. These spirits receive multiple mentions in the book of Revelation, and they are named in Isaiah.

The 7 Spirits of God are sometimes linked with spiritual prophecy – and even numerology, symbolism and colors. Be careful when choosing resources related to this topic, seek advice from your senior pastor if in doubt. Then pray that God’s Holy Spirit will guide your teaching on this fascinating topic.

What are the 7 Spirits of God?

“The seven Spirits” are mentioned in Revelation 1:4; 3:1; 4:5; and 5:6. Some people interpret them as the sevenfold ministry of the Holy Spirit outlined in Isaiah 11:2-3. These verses say, “The Spirit of the Lord shall rest upon him, the Spirit of wisdom and understanding, the Spirit of counsel and might, the Spirit of knowledge and fear of the Lord, and he delight in the fear of the Lord.”

Thus the 7 Spirits of God are:

  1. The Spirit of the Lord
  2. The spirit of wisdom
  3. The spirit of understanding
  4. The spirit of advice
  5. The spirit of power
  6. The spirit of knowledge
  7. The Spirit of the Fear of the Lord

7 resources on the 7 spirits of God

Many websites offer biblical information about the 7 spirits of God. Check out these seven options and use the material that best fits your church’s teachings. Also be sure to adapt the information, if necessary, to the age of the children in your youth group.

1. Who are the 7 spirits in Revelation?

This helpful article from the Gospel Coalition offers an in-depth look at the 7 Spirits of God. The author reminds readers that the apocalyptic nature of Revelation should impact how we study it.

2. The Sevenfold Spirit of God

David Schrock connects the passages from Revelation and Isaiah to Paul’s teachings on the Spirit of God in 1 Corinthians.


Comments are closed.