There were more than 1.5 million speeding tickets cameras, alone, issued by Maryland jurisdictions in 2018. In Maryland, anyone who receives a speeding ticket, is involved in an at-fault accident, or receives a DUI, could be considered a high-risk driver. Once a driver is deemed high risk, it can be difficult to find affordable auto insurance or get an auto insurance company to renew an insurance policy.
Although each automobile insurance company in Maryland is different and goes through a different underwriting process, generally agree that one of the characteristics included above, in addition to being a teenage driver, is classified as high risk. Therefore, drivers can look for Maryland’s high-risk auto insurance offer.
High Risk Auto Insurance Rates in Maryland
Although every car insurance company in Maryland is different and has a unique application process, being high risk almost always results in paying a higher insurance premium. The the average driver pays $1,674 for full auto insurance per year in the United States, but this rate varies by location and each driver’s personal factors. Additionally, car insurance companies will look at driver-specific factors such as age, driving history, credit score, and gender to assess the risk of insuring someone. In Maryland, teenage drivers over the age of 16, or those who have received a speeding ticket, been involved in an at-fault accident, or been convicted of a DUI, may be considered high risk.
Rates after speeding
Driving above the maximum state speed limit is considered breaking the law. Speeding tickets can be immediately reflected on a driving record and appear as points on driver’s licenses. Insurance companies will be able to identify this information in the application process, which will generally result in higher insurance premiums. Maryland drivers can see a percentage increase of at least 7% to 42% per year for full-coverage auto insurance after speeding.
In addition to paying higher car insurance premiums, other penalties for speeding include a fine and the points accumulated on your licence. Under Maryland law, any speed over the absolute speed limit could be considered breaking the law. If a driver exceeds a posted speed limit between one and nine miles per hour, they could be charged $80 and get a point on their license. If they exceed a speed limit of 10 to 19 miles, they can receive a $90 fine and two license points.
Exceeding the speed limit by more than 29 miles carries fines of up to $290 and five points. Speeding can even be considered reckless driving in Maryland if a driver shows sufficient disregard for traffic safety, resulting in up to $1,000 in fines.
|car insurance company||Maryland’s average annual premium for full coverage before a speeding ticket||Maryland’s average annual premium for full coverage after speeding||% increase|
|At national scale||$1,232||$1,724||40%|
Rates after an at-fault accident
Like speeding, an at-fault accident in Maryland could also result in higher auto insurance premiums. An at-fault accident is another way insurance companies classify high-risk drivers. The average percentage increase in car insurance premiums could range from 26% to 91% after a car accident.
The minimum state insurance requirements in maryland include $30,000 bodily injury liability for one person, $60,000 bodily injury liability for two or more people and $15,000 for property damage. A driver who does not have the minimum auto insurance limits required by Maryland and is involved in an at-fault accident may end up paying all accident-related costs out of pocket. Depending on the circumstances of the accident – for example if it was a hit-and-run or if the driver was driving too fast – drivers in Maryland may face additional penaltiessuch as a misdemeanor charge, fines or even jail time.
|car insurance company||Maryland’s average annual premium for full coverage before an at-fault accident||Maryland’s average annual premium for full coverage after an at-fault accident||% increase|
|At national scale||$1,232||$2,352||91%|
Rates after a DUI
Driving under the influence is against the law in Maryland and another high-risk classification for insurance companies. The average percentage increase in auto insurance premiums after a DUI can range from 19% to 302% per year, depending on the auto insurance provider and other driver-related factors.
In Maryland, a first offense for a DUI could also result in a fine of up to $1,000, up to a year in jail, 12 points on your driving record and a license revocation of up to six months. If a driver is found guilty of a second offense, they can face a fine of up to $2,000, up to two years in prison, 12 points on their license and license revocation for up to a year. Drivers may also be required to enroll in an ignition interlock program.
|car insurance company||Maryland’s Average Annual Premium for Full Coverage Before a DUI||Maryland’s Average Annual Premium for Full Coverage After a DUI||% increase|
|At national scale||$1,232||$2,187||78%|
Fee for young drivers
In the Old Line state, anyone between the ages of 16 and 19 is generally considered high risk due to being an inexperienced teenage driver. Teenage drivers are at higher risk and more likely to file an insurance claim due to their statistically higher likelihood of being involved in an at-fault accident or getting a speeding ticket. In Maryland, high-risk auto insurance rates for full coverage based on a 16-year-old added to a parent’s policy can range from $1,030 to $2,699 per year, depending on the insurance provider. insurance.
In Maryland, a teenager with a learner’s license is allowed to drive as long as an adult at least 21 years old who has been licensed for three years is present. The laws regarding teenage drivers may change, however, as Maryland continues to strengthen its laws concerning young drivers.
|car insurance company||Average annual premium for full coverage|
|At national scale||$1,030|
*16 years old on their parent’s policy
What is a High Risk Driver?
Bankrate’s sample high-risk driver profile is based on a driver who has received a speeding ticket, been involved in an at-fault accident, been convicted of a DUI, or had a car break. cover. However, high-risk drivers by industry standards generally include anyone who is more likely to file an auto insurance claim. These are some of the characteristics auto insurance companies look at when determining risk, as well as teen driver risk, as driving history can predict future outcomes.
How to lower your rate if you’re a high-risk driver
Even after being classified as a high-risk driver, there are several ways to reduce your insurance premiums for find the best price. Here are some ways to consider lowering your rate:
- Drive less and get mileage-based insurance.
- Take advantage of discounts available on car insurance, such as those offered to good students.
- Increase your credit score.
- Change auto insurance company.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which car insurance company has the cheapest car insurance quotes in Maryland for high risk drivers?
Every car insurance company is different and will give you a quote based on your driving factors. Some best car insurance companies with the most affordable rates in Maryland for high-risk drivers may be those with low premiums or a variety of discounts, among other qualities.
Will adding a 16 year old increase my car insurance premiums?
Yes, adding a 16 year old to your car insurance policy will increase your premiums. Teenage drivers are statistically more likely to be involved in a car accident or receive a speeding ticket. For this reason, they are considered high-risk drivers.
Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all zip codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, D.C. Rates shown are based on a 40-year-old male and female with a clean driving record, good credit and the following complete information coverage limits:
- Civil liability of $100,000 in bodily injury per person
- Civil liability of $300,000 in bodily injury per accident
- Civil liability of $50,000 in property damage per accident
- $100,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per person
- $300,000 uninsured motorist bodily injury per accident
- $500 collision deductible
- $500 aggregate deductible
To determine minimum coverage limits, Bankrate has used minimum coverages that meet each state’s requirements. Our basic profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and drive 12,000 miles a year. These are sampling rates and should only be used for comparison purposes.
High risk drivers
Incident: Rates were calculated by evaluating our baseline profile with the following incidents applied: clean record (baseline), at-fault accident, single speeding ticket, single impaired driving conviction, and coverage lapse.